Used Car Dealer Class I,II, III are issued by the Board of Selectmen and governed by Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140 Section 57-59. 

There are three different types of car dealer licenses: 

Class I for new car dealers; 

Class II for used car dealers; and 

Class III for junk / salvage car dealers 

Class I, II, III License Application

In addition to filing with the Town of Wrentham, licensees in this category must also obtain the following:

Surety Bond

A MA Used Vehicle Dealer Bond (also known as an MA Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond or MA MVD Bond) is a requirement to get a Used Car Dealer License. A Massachusetts MVD Bond protects your customers from fraud or misrepresentation during a business transaction.

The state of MA has set the bond amount at $25,000. This is not the price you'll pay for your bond though. Instead, you will pay a portion of this amount, based on your credit history and personal financial strength.

Dealer Plates

Each used car dealer shall apply for and obtain dealer plates from the Registry of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of obtaining an initial license. Copies of current dealer plate registrations shall be filed with the City Clerk's Office, upon receipt of the original registration and/or registration renewals.